Live from Oakland!

Baseball is a wonderful horsehide thread which weaves together many strands of my life. On Saturday, hours after landing at Oakland International Airport, and going through MLB’s new, rigorous screening process–I think they can do better–I was seated behind third base at the former Oakland-Alameda Coliseum. I had been here dozens of times when I was a Berkeley resident, and it was nice to be back. Being an evening game in the Bay Area, I’m glad I had a sweater, jacket and scarf, and was a bit sorry I didn’t have a hat. A big crowd–it being Superhero Fireworks Night–watched a pretty good game. Chicago’s two Venezuelans shone in the field and at the plate–Avisail Garcia made a wonderful running catch in the A’s bullpen area, and at the plate went 3-for-3 with a walk. He knocked in two of the White Sox four runs. Maracay-born second baseman Carlos Sanchez didn’t hit, but turned a key double play with Cuban shortstop Alexei Ramirez to quell an A’s rally in the 8th. The ball barely touched his glove as he deflected it rather neatly to Ramirez. A small play that made a world of difference in a one-run game (the A’s are losing plenty of those this year.) Big Valenciano righty Edward Mujica came into the game for the A’s and pitched a scoreless eighth, although he surrendered two hits, one to countryman Garcia. Avisail capped off a nice weekend on Sunday with a 3-for-5 performance including a home run–his average is up to .338. He could be the real deal. Certainly it appears that his winter appearances in Venezuela for los Tigres de Aragua helped him round into shape after missing much of 2014 with a shoulder injury. Thanks to my good friend Ed Lyons for joining me at the game. Sometimes a ballgame and a beer are the perfect antidote to a tough week. And thanks to the A’s for a great fireworks show—if they tighten up their defense they might win a few more of these one-run games. Next stop, Giants-Dodgers at PacBell Park on Thursday: a day game!

About vzbaseball

Writer, Musician, Baseball Fanatic. Lonely Planet, Fodor's, scouring the nation and globe for stories. Big fish, small pond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Live from Oakland!

  1. laura kilty says:

    Next time I’m there to see my beloved Giants, I must go watch Oakland too! And I am extremely envious you are off to see the Giants v Dodgers- I hope you will be rooting for the Giants!!

Leave a comment